Celebration Evening 2014

19th December 2014 by OSFC. Comments (0)

Prizewinners  (l to r) Krishneela Rittoo, Will Manchester and Bethany Russell with Councilllor Fida Hussain and Mrs Tanvir Hussain The Worshipful The Mayor and Mayoress of OldhamStudents who left in 2014 were presented with awards for their achievements on Thursday 18 December by our former student and Oxford graduate, Rebecca Creamer, now Network and Events Manager for NLGN (New Local Government Network).

Rebecca said:

I was so flattered to be asked to speak tonight. I had a fantastic time at OSFC and I have nothing but fond memories of studying here. My time at the college helped equip me with the education and personal qualities needed to be successful and achieve my goals while remaining grounded. It’s an excellent college and I know ex-students like me will continue to sing its praises for years to come.”

Principal Jayne Clarke, commented

“Our Celebration Evening is always a wonderful event, giving former students the chance to catch up with staff and one another whilst celebrating their excellent results with us. It embodies everything we all work so hard to achieve and is a lovely reminder of the importance of what we do. We were very pleased to welcome back Rebecca as our guest of honour. Her input provided further inspiration for those in the next stages of their education or just starting out on their careers. We wish all our former students the very best for their futures and urge them to keep in touch with us too!’

Former students and their guests attended ceremonies to receive their certificates and/or prizes and enjoyed an informal reunion with staff. 116 Subject and Progress prizes were awarded in addition to 63 prizes for Outstanding Academic Achievement, 24 prizes for Outstanding Vocational Achievement, the Asian Business Association Award for Young Enterprise, a Sports Prize and the College Governors’ Prize.

In addition to the Gloria Oates Award for Excellence and Endeavour, which was introduced in 2010 in memory of our former Chair of Governors, two other Special Awards were presented for the fourth time on the night. One, the Mark Anderson Award, was set up in 2011 in memory of our former Travel & Tourism student Mark Anderson. The other, the Helen Ramsden Award for Health and Social Care, was also established in 2011 in memory of our former colleague and is awarded to a student of this subject who has had to overcome adversity to achieve success.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Latest Tweets by @OSFC_Info